4K is on

4K plays an increasingly important role in the transmission of video signals. For technical reasons, 4K transmissions are mainly carried out in Quad Link (4 x 3 Gbit/s). However, this proves to be uneconomical in practice. A single link transmission with 12 Gbit/s should be aimed for.

According to the SMPTE ST 2082 standard, the 4K format transmits video signals with a resolution of 3840 x 2160 pixels and a data stream of 12 Gbit/s. This corresponds to half a clock frequency of 6 GHz. The standard also provides for a maximum allowed attenuation of 40 dB. Based on these specifications, the BU Multimedia Solutions (MMS) of the Prysmian Group has designed the UHD coaxial cable series for the transmission of 4K video signals.

The UHD series includes the UHD50 and UHD100, for example. In developing the new series, MMS placed great emphasis on taking into account the requirements of OB vehicle manufacturers – for example, compliance with the external cable diameters of 4.5 and 7 millimetres. MMS has achieved this by increasing the cell structure of the dielectric and a silver-plated and optimized inner conductor.

4K is on

Bei der Übertragung von Videosignalen spielt 4K eine immer größere Rolle. Technisch bedingt werden 4K-Übertragungen überwiegend in Quad Link ausgeführt (4 x 3 Gbit/s). Das erweist sich in der Praxis jedoch als unwirtschaftlich. Anzustreben ist eine Single-Link-Übertragung mit 12 Gbit/s.

Gemäß des Standards SMPTE ST 2082 überträgt das Format 4K Videosignale mit einer Auflösung von 3840 x 2160 Pixel und einem Datenstrom von 12 Gbit/s. Das entspricht einer halben Clockfrequenz von 6 GHz. Die Norm sieht außerdem eine maximal erlaubte Dämpfung von 40 dB vor. Basierend auf diesen Vorgaben hat die BU Multimedia Solutions (MMS) der Prysmian Group die UHD-Koaxialkabelserie zur Übertragung von 4K-Videosignalen konzipiert.

Die UHD-Serie umfasst beispielsweise das UHD50 und UHD100. Bei der Entwicklung der neuen Serie legte MMS großen Wert darauf, die Anforderungen der Ü-Wagenhersteller zu berücksichtigen – beispielsweise das Einhalten der äußeren Kabel-Durchmesser von 4,5 und 7 Millimetern. MMS hat dies durch höhere Verzellung des Dielektrikums und einen versilberten und optimierten Innenleiter erreicht.

Schreibe einen Kommentar